Book Reviews

Review: Finding Fraser by KC Dyer

kcd_ff

This review contains spoilers.

The truth? I read this because I really love Outlander, and it’s going to be a long time before book nine is published. So I thought I’d give it a try, and hoped it would be a fun read. And it was, most of the time.

The reason I’m giving this book three stars, even though I truly enjoyed parts of it, is because I got annoyed with Emma more than a few times for being so damned stupid. She trusted Susan (or rather, Gail, but I’ll call her Susan since that’s how Emma always referred to her, even after she learned her true identity) far too easily, and I wasn’t a bit surprised when Susan robbed her blind. I understand it was important for something to happen that would turn Emma’s plans upside down—I didn’t have a problem with that—but it would have been much more dramatic if I hadn’t seen it coming right from the start. It was too easy to figure out.

And Hamish? It took a bit longer, but it was soon clear that he wasn’t all he was cracked up to be, either. Too many brief, not-quite-dates and then there was the insulting way he casually gives her a gym pass, saying she needed to work on her abs and get her body “bikini ready” for when they go to California. Rather than give him an earful and breaking it off with him, she becomes obsessed with looking at pictures of women with perfect abs online. Seriously? I really started to dislike Emma at this point, and felt like it served her right when she discovered Hamish tangled up with Susan in the garage.

The redeeming factor was her relationships with other people she met along the way. Jack Findlay, Morag, Gerald… it was fun watching these friendships develop. And the snarky emails from her sister were always entertaining to read. Very believable. The blog posts Emma made, her joy and awe as she marveled at the beauty of Scotland, and her interactions with people who followed her blog… all these things were enjoyable to read. (These are the parts of the story deserving of a higher rating, but I just couldn’t get past the things that annoyed me enough to feel motivated enough to do it.)

Another thing: If Emma hadn’t been so busy blindly thinking of Hamish as her Fraser she might have noticed that Jack was definitely interested in her, and had more time to spend with someone who was far more worthy of her. So much time wasted on the wrong man!

I did enjoy Susan/Gail finally getting her just desserts, and Hamish having his California dreams ruined. Ha!

Overall? I mostly enjoyed this book, but the parts I didn’t like, I really didn’t like. I’m not sorry I read it, though, and would probably read this author again. I do have mixed feelings about this particular book, but wouldn’t use that as a deciding point on whether or not to read another of her novels.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Author: KC Dyer

Title: Finding Fraser

Genre: Romance

Published:  5/15/2015 by Lions Mountain Literary

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

daisybar

About the Book

Sometimes searching for true love can be a little…Outlandish.

I met Jamie Fraser when I was nineteen years old. He was tall, red-headed, and at our first meeting at least, a virgin. I fell in love hard, fast and completely. He knew how to ride a horse, wield a sword and stitch a wound. He was, in fact, the perfect man.

That he was fictional hardly entered into it.

At 29, Emma Sheridan’s life is a disaster and she’s tired of waiting for the perfect boyfriend to step from the pages of her favorite book. There’s only one place to look, and it means selling everything and leaving her world behind. With an unexpected collection of allies along the way, can Emma face down a naked fishmonger, a randy gnome, a perfidious thief, and even her own abdominal muscles on the journey to find her Fraser?

daisybar

About the Author

kc-dyer
Author K.C. Dyer

kc dyer resides in the wilds of British Columbia in the company of an assortment of mammals, some of them human. She likes to walk in the woods and write books.

Her most recent novel—an Amazon #1 Bestseller in romantic comedy for grown-ups—is FINDING FRASER, first published in 2015, with a new Berkley edition slated for release in May, 2016 . For teens, kc’s most recent work is FACING FIRE, a sequel to the acclaimed novel, A WALK THROUGH A WINDOW, published by Doubleday/Random House. kc is represented by Laura Bradford of Bradford Literary Agency.

Author photo via Amazon. Author bio via author’s website.

Save

Share Your Thoughts

