Review: The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain

dc_tss

Riley Macpherson has returned to her childhood home to deal with her father, Frank’s, estate after his death. She’s in a vulnerable state, overwhelmed by the numerous things she has to attend to in settling the estate, and feeling alone in her grief, with no one left to turn to for comfort. She’s recently ended a two year relationship that was going nowhere. Her older brother, an emotionally distant, psychologically-damaged Iraq war veteran named Danny, wants nothing to do with any of it, due to the strained relationship he had with their father. Cancer had taken her mother seven years ago, and child-prodigy violinist Lisa, the older sister she never knew, committed suicide when Riley was less than two years old. At twenty five years old, Riley feels as if she’s lost her entire family.

At the reading of Frank’s will, Riley discovers things she never knew, such as his former employment as a U.S. Marshall . Frank’s bequests to Jeannie Lyons (her mother’s best friend), and Tom and Verniece Kyle (long-time residents at his RV park) were surprises, as well. When Riley, as executrix of the estate, informs them of their bequests, she gets the distinct impression that they all expected something more from her father. If that wasn’t mysterious enough, she finds out that Frank and Jeannie were involved in a relationship her never told her about, and Verniece seems certain that Riley was adopted, even though she knows she wasn’t.

Jeannie, a real-estate agent, offers to help her with the sale of the house and RV park, pressing Riley to let her come over and look around to figure out what needs to done with the house to get it ready for the market. Riley discovers Jeannie going through Frank’s things, holding a box she insists belongs to her, and acting suspiciously. When Riley looks through the box, an even bigger mystery presents itself in the form of old newspaper clippings. Riley had always been told that Lisa became depressed and committed suicide, but the clippings revealed a dark fact that had been kept from her: Lisa’s suicide occurred shortly before she was due to stand trial for the murder of her violin teacher.

Driven to find out what happened, Lisa starts digging into the past, finding more questions than answers. Why was Frank giving $500 a month to Tom, a man Jeannie insists he didn’t even like? Why did he have a post office box in another town, under a false name? Why did Lisa kill her violin teacher? And why does Tom Kyle act as if he knows a lot more than he’s letting on?

The Silent Sister is a well-written, enjoyable read. A few of the plot twists were predictable (for me, at least), which is a shame because it would have been a more satisfying mystery if I hadn’t seen any of the plot twists coming. So instead of a four-star rating, I had to knock it down to a three. Still, it was a good story and I’m glad to have read it.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Author: Diane Chamberlain

Title: The Silent Sister

Series: Riley Macpherson #1

Genre: Suspense

Published:  October 7th, 2014 by St. Martin’s Press

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

divider

About the Book

The Silent Sister is a gripping novel from Diane Chamberlain, the bestselling author of The Midwife’s Confession.

What if everything you believed turned out to be a lie? Riley MacPherson is returning to her childhood home in North Carolina. A place that holds cherished memories. While clearing out the house she finds a box of old newspaper articles – and a shocking family secret begins to unravel.

Riley has spent her whole life believing that her older sister Lisa died tragically as a teenager. But now she’s starting to uncover the truth: her life has been built on a foundation of lies, told by everyone she loved.

Lisa is alive. Alive and living under a new identity. But why exactly was she on the run all those years ago, and what secrets are being kept now?

As Riley tries to separate reality from fiction, her discoveries call into question everything she thought she knew about her family. Can she find the strength inside herself to decide her future.

Incredibly gripping and emotionally powerful, The Silent Sister is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty.

A companion short story featuring Riley, The Broken String, is available in eBook.

divider

About the Author

diane-chamberlain
Author Diane Chamberlain

Diane Chamberlain is the New York Times, USA Today and Sunday Times bestselling author of 24 novels published in more than twenty languages. Some of her most popular books include Necessary Lies, The Silent Sister, The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, and The Keeper of the Light Trilogy. Diane likes to write complex stories about relationships between men and women, parents and children, brothers and sisters, and friends. Although the thematic focus of her books often revolves around family, love, compassion and forgiveness, her stories usually feature a combination of drama, mystery, secrets and intrigue. Diane’s background in psychology has given her a keen interest in understanding the way people tick, as well as the background necessary to create her realistic characters.

Diane was born and raised in Plainfield, New Jersey and spent her summers at the Jersey Shore. She also lived for many years in San Diego and northern Virginia before making North Carolina her home.

Diane received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in clinical social work from San Diego State University. Prior to her writing career, Diane worked in hospitals in San Diego and Washington, D.C. before opening a private psychotherapy practice in Alexandria Virginia specializing in adolescents. All the while Diane was writing on the side. Her first book, Private Relations was published in 1989 and it earned the RITA award for Best Single Title Contemporary Novel.

Diane lives with her partner, photographer John Pagliuca, and her sheltie, Cole. She has three stepdaughters, two sons-in-law, and four grandchildren. She’s currently at work on her next novel.

Author photo and bio via Goodreads.

Save

Save

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bound to Be Me

Mother, Runner & Book Reviewer

The Writer's Notebook

Sue Featherstone

Bits about Books

Book Reviews | Blogging | Blog Tours | Social Media Advice for Authors

Thebooknookae

Bookstagram & Twitter: @thebooknookae

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

FNM

100 Books and Reviews for 2017

Random Things Through My Letterbox

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Sunkissed Scribbles

Books and Body Slams!

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

All About Reviews

My personal thoughts about products I tried.

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Stephanie's Novel Fiction

Sharing my life through my love of reading and the joys of books!

The Stacked Shelf

All things to do with books.

Mrs Bloggs' Books

The Average Reader

The Villain Library

Your every day Villain with a passion for books

Linda's Book Obsession:

Book Reviewer and Lover of Books

Katina's Closet

Your One Stop Shopping E-Boutique

Naty's Bookshelf

Why socialize when you can read?

The Paperback Princess

So many books, so little time..a bibliophile's thoughts on all bookish things. Sometimes I even like to talk about food & television.

Chellsandbooks

Reviews Interviews giveaways

The Mystique Reader

Lost in the love of words, books and colors

Jessica loves to read

"A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads only lives one." - George R.R. Martin

Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Book reviews and ramblings from a book mad mum of two!

scarlettseleva

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

Flippin' Pages

Reviews from ladies who love to read

black books blog

Welcome to black books blog

Viviaggia.com

Send us your trip's photos

Books n All

#booksnall

The Pioneer Girl Project

Laura Ingalls Wilder's Pioneer Girl

Renée Précis

"It is not about how many words you can read per minute but rather how many new ideas you are left with after you have finished reading." -Katy Huller

Hobby Reads

Because everyone's hobby is having fun! Visit us @ www.kensingtonbooks.com

This Is My Truth Now

Fiction, Books, TV, Trips & Reviews... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

Bookish Endeavors

Reading and dreaming

LittleMissNoSleep Daydreams of Books

Insomniac Seeks Good Books for Night-time Adventures

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

%d bloggers like this: