One Book at a Time

I don’t know why I think I can read more than one book at a time. I know better, but every time I have trouble deciding what I want to read, I’ll convince myself I can do it. I’ll get my fiction fix while I read a  nonfiction about <insert topic here> and get a peek into someone’s life via a memoir. Best of all worlds!

Sounds great in theory, but the reality is my brain will rebel against it every single time. It won’t let me enjoy reading Book A, because it’s busy thinking about Book B. If I switch, it starts thinking about Book A. And so on, and so forth. Diabolical!

My rebellious mind has won again. I’m setting aside three of the four books I was reading, and am now focusing on Breaking the Silence by Diane Chamberlain. Funny how the last one I start is always the one I choose to stick with.

So many books… so little time… so hard to choose which one to read first!

5 thoughts on “One Book at a Time

    1. I need to stop doing it. All it does is drive me crazy and suck the joy out of reading. Maybe I’ll smarten up one of these days.

      Like

  1. Sometimes I suffer from the same thing. Others, I find I have to put them down as it isn’t /their time/ yet. Sometimes I just can’t get my head to get into a book and have no other choice but to pick up a second one, or a third, or a… you get the point. Sometimes I just have to keep starting them until I find THAT one. My mind is fickle and so are my moods when it comes to reading. Forcing a read is no fun!

    Like

    1. I know what you mean by “their time.” If I try to read a genre/topic I’m not really into at the moment (no matter how interested I am in reading it) 99% of the time I have to put it aside and save it for another day. It’s a rare book I set aside and never come back to finish, but it happens sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.