Review: Dark Angel | Lord Carew’s Bride by Mary Balogh

mb_dalcb

 

From New York Times bestselling author Mary Balogh come two classic tales of love turned dangerous, set amid the splendor of Regency England—a time rife with passion, betrayal, and intrigue.

Dark Angel
Jennifer Winwood has been engaged for five years to a man she hardly knows but believes to be honorable and good: Lord Lionel Kersey. Suddenly, she becomes the quarry of London’s most notorious womanizer, Gabriel Fisher, the Earl of Thornhill. Jennifer has no idea that she is just a pawn in the long-simmering feud between these two headstrong, irresistible men—or that she will become a prize more valuable than revenge.
 
Lord Carew’s Bride
Jennifer’s cousin Samantha Newman is smarting after she too is toyed with by Lord Kersey. In the midst of her heartbreak, she seeks solace from her new friend, the disabled gardener Hartley Wade. If only she knew that Hartley is secretly Lord Carew, and that he hides more than extraordinary wealth: a passionate secret held deep in his heart that only her love can reveal.


This is the first book I ever read by Mary Balogh. I was familiar with her name, but had never so much as read the back cover of one of her books. I was discussing favorite authors with a friend of mine (the owner of a local second-hand bookstore) one day, and she asked if I’d ever read anything by Ms. Balogh… when I said I hadn’t, she said I really should give her novels a try, and promised to look through her stock and find something really good for me to read. A couple days later she handed me a copy of this book.

I have to admit, I really didn’t think I’d like it when I realized it was a regency. (I always think I’m going to dislike regency romances before I start reading them. Why, I have no idea. Maybe it’s because most of the ones I’ve picked up are so short in length, and I prefer longer novels… who knows?) I was very pleasantly surprised to find that I was hooked almost immediately. I sat up reading well into the wee hours of the morning, putting the book aside only when I was so exhausted the words began to blur on the page. Another session of marathon reading ensued practically as soon as I woke up the next day. Again, I ended up reading into the night, and when I finally did put the book down, it was because I had turned the last page and finished the book.

I’ve not yet gotten around to reading the rest of this series, but they are definitely on my want to read list. If I were to compare this book to the other regency romances I’ve read, I would say that this was the best of them all. If you like regency romance, and haven’t read this yet, give it a try… I highly doubt you’ll be disappointed!

Author: Mary Balogh

Title: Dark Angel | Lord Carew’s Bride

Series: Stapleton-Downes #3 and #4

Published: 2/23/2010 by Dell

Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus

This review was originally published on Goodreads on February 3, 2011.

 

 

