Book Reviews

Review: Into the Darkness by V.C. Andrews

vca_itd

As lovely as one of the precious gems at her parents’ jewellery store, Amber Taylor is shy and introspective–qualities misread by others as being stuck-up and superior. Facing a long, lonely summer working at the family shop, Amber’s world lights up when the Matthews family suddenly moves in to the house next door, a property that has stood neglected for the longest time.

And when she meets Brayden Matthews, Amber soon becomes infatuated with this handsome, quirky young man who seems to know her innermost feelings almost before she does, who takes her places she never knew existed in her small town. Their connection is electrifying, unlike anything Amber’s felt before. But as quickly as he appears, Brayden vanishes into the darkness. And finding out the truth about him will push Amber to the edge of madness.


I was surprised to find I actually enjoyed reading this book. That’s pretty rare anymore… the main reason I continue to buy and read V.C. Andrews’ novels is because I started buying them a long time ago, and want to have a complete set of them, whether I really enjoy reading them or not. (Silly, perhaps… but when I start things I like to finish them.)

I was, naturally, expecting more of the usual, long stale formulaic storytelling that has been going on since Ms. Andrews’ death, via the ghostwriter. Imagine my surprise to see that it didn’t resemble the usual tale at all! I could honestly say, for the first time in years, that this story’s mystery kept me guessing all the way through. I had suspicions, but as it turned out, I was thinking in the wrong direction. (And that’s about as close to a spoiler as I want to get, so I’ll say no more.)

Was it the best book I’ve ever read? No. I’ve read far better. Still, I’m going to give it a four star rating because I did ‘really like it’. It was refreshing after reading the same old tired story presented in (very slightly) different ways for the past twenty years.

Author: V.C. Andrews

Title: Into the Darkness

Published: February 28, 2012 by Pocket Star

Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plusThis review was originally published on Goodreads on July 31, 2012.

 

Share Your Thoughts

