Book Reviews

Review: Chicken Soup for the Woman’s Soul

jc_csftws

There are many ways to define a woman: daughter, mother, wife, professional, friend, student… We are each special and unique, yet we share a common connection. What bonds all women are our mutual experiences of loving and learning: feeling the tenderness of love; forging lifelong friendships; pursuing a chosen career; giving birth to new life; juggling the responsibilities of job and family, and more. This shining collection brings you inspiration and comfort in special chapters on marriage, motherhood, aging, bridging the generations, attitude, self-esteem and higher wisdom. Stories honor the strength and reveal the beauty of the feminine spirit. Included are incredible stories from Oprah Winfrey, Leo Buscaglia, Linda Ellerbee, Robert Fulghum, Kathie Lee Gifford and many others.

Whether you are a career woman or a stay-at-home mom, a teenager or a senior, a young woman just starting out or a woman of the world, this delightful book will be a treasured companion for many years to come.


I read this book in a single sitting… the stories within were so good that I was unable to put it down until I finished it. I found many of the stories to be quite engrossing, and several touched my heart in ways I hadn’t expected. That’s really saying something for me, because in the past, whenever I saw one of the ‘Chicken Soup’ books, I wouldn’t even bother to pick it up to read so much as the book jacket. I’d heard so much about how wonderful they were supposed to be that it put me off reading them. If this one hadn’t been a freebie, I’d probably still be left in the dark about how good they are. (I feel safe including all the ‘Chicken Soup’ books in that statement, even though I’ve only read the one.)

If you enjoy inspirational short stories, it’s a good bet that you will like this book.

Author: Jack Canfield (Editor), Mark Victor Hansen, Jennifer Read Hawthorne, and Marci Shimoff (Editor)

Title: Chicken Soup for the Woman’s Soul: 101 Stories to Open the Hearts and Rekindle the Spirits of Women

Published: October 1, 1996 by Health Communications

Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plusThis review was originally published on Goodreads on June 28, 2011.

 

Share Your Thoughts

