Tags

Book Sacrifice Tag

I’m in the mood to do more tags! 🙂

An over-hyped book

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies’ only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

twilightcover

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I haven’t actually read the entire book (life is too short to waste on books you aren’t enjoying!) but I’m still going to say Twilight. I disliked the writing style from the start, so I didn’t bother finishing it. I know a lot of people out there love the Twilight series, but it definitely wasn’t my up of tea.

A sequel

Situation: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

rbp

Rhett Butler’s People by Donald McCaig

This was an easy choice. I thoroughly despised this book. My review was more of a rant, full of spoilers to illustrate why I hated so much. I tell anyone who asks me not to bother reading it. Worst. Book. EVER.

A classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

See my choice for Least Favorite Book below. I can’t think of any other classic I’ve actually read that I disliked as much as that one.

A least favourite book

Situation: Apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

cover

1984 by George Orwell

I heard talk about this book for what seemed like forever. I’ve seen it called a ‘masterpiece’ time and time again. As far as I’m concerned, it was garbage. It took me three weeks or more to finish it, if I’m remembering correctly. I kept waiting to see the ‘genius’ I’d heard so much about. What I got instead was probably the most frustrating story ever told. I absolutely hated this book, and wish I’d never read it.

This was fun! If you do this tag, please link to your post in the comments. I’d love to read your picks!

9 thoughts on “Book Sacrifice Tag”

  1. I cannot believe you said 1984!!! I laughed at the Twilight because at the time I enjoyed the book but looking back and reading it again… it’s not the best writing and there are a ton of plot holes. Really I could go on but there is no point because I agree with you. But 1984 – what didn’t you like about it? I just don’t get how you could hate it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 1984 wasn’t what I thought it was going to be at all. All through the book, I was expecting that the end would bring about a revolution against Big Brother. Instead, the main character (I’ve forgotten his name) ends up being tortured and made to conform. Everything he did, everything he went through, was all for nothing. It felt pointless to me. I’d invested all this time reading it, and the ending basically brought readers right back to the beginning, albeit with a main character who was much worse off than he was in the beginning.

      I’m not the kind of person who needs every book I read to have a happy ending, or for good to always triumph over evil. I’m sure many people felt the ending was a fitting one. It just didn’t work for me. For me, 1984 was a slow read. Certain portions of the story were very good… that’s what kept me reading… but it wasn’t enough to keep me from hating it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I get your frustration with the ending. I was completely shocked but I think that is also what I love about the book. It doesn’t have the perfect, everything is going to be okay ending. I felt like it had a cynical twist and it was refreshing to see an author take that bold step. You don’t see that very often and the books that do this are often difficult to read. But I do understand your point and have had my share of books that I felt this exact same way.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I think it was the hype about it that made me think there would ultimately be some sort of justice served at the end. I agree that it was a bold ending, considering where it seemed to be heading.

          I’ve really enjoyed discussing this with you! I love to hear differing opinions about books I’ve read. It’s always so interesting to me to hear someone else’s thoughts on books I’ve read.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Me too!! I love discussing books, especially when the other person read or interpreted the book differently than I did. It’s fun and it helps, at least me, think outside the box or my own perspective.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Same here. After discussing 1984 with you, I keep thinking that my preconceived ideas on how it would end might have kept me from appreciating it.

            Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

