5 Favorite Childhood Reads

bookishlists

 

Looking back and feeling nostalgic about things is apparently a natural part of aging. How many of us find ourselves looking back on things we loved in our younger years? A favorite song… a band you were crazy about back in the day… a special place that has personal meaning to you. Memories are sweet, indeed, and I often find myself reminiscing about those long ago days, with a smile on my face, as I recall things that made me happy as a child. As a lifelong bookworm, it’s only natural that those memories often include beloved books I read back then.

Here are five of my favorite childhood reads.

 

Nancy Drew Mysteries by Carolyn Keene

5.  The Nancy Drew Mysteries by Carolyn Keene

The first mystery I ever read was one of the Nancy Drew mysteries. I read (and reread) the series all throughout my elementary school years. I credit Nancy Drew with my love of mysteries. I never managed to figure out ‘whodunnit’… I suppose I wasn’t quite as clever as Nancy. 😉

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell

 

4.  Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

This is the first book I ever read with a Native American protagonist. When I learned it was based on a true story, my interest in Native American cultures and history began, so this was an important book that helped shape (in part) the person I became.

 

Are You There, God? It's Me, Margaret by Judy Blume

 

3. Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume

Reading this book is akin to a rite of passage for pre-teen girls. (Or it was when I was a kid, at least.) I identified with Margaret in so many ways. Reading about a girl my age who was just as confused and insecure as I was made life a little more bearable.

 

2. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryAnne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Delightful, imaginative, always dreaming “Anne with an E” was easy to fall in love with when I was a little girl. I wanted to be Anne, or at least have a best friend like her. Anne Shirley taught me about kindred spirits, imagination is important, and that it’s perfectly fine to use big words when you need them.

 

Little House Collection by Laura Ingalls Wilder

 

1. Little House Collection by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Nothing takes me right back to my childhood like the Little House books. More than any other, these are the books responsible for my love of historical settings. I loved the illustrations as much as the stories themselves, and I spent countless happy hours reading about the Ingalls family and their many travels.

One of the greatest simple pleasures in my life is reading. In one way or another, all of these books helped shape the reader I was to become. What were some of your favorite reads as a child? Does your list include any of the books I’ve mentioned?

2 thoughts on “5 Favorite Childhood Reads

  1. I haven’t read any of them yet.. seems I’m missing out of something! I remember reading The Babysitter Club series (but I don’t know if they exist in English) and once in the middle of my teens I also made my way through the Miss Marple books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember seeing The Babysitter’s Club books, but I never read any of them. Agatha Christie is on my list of authors to read, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’ve always heard they are excellent books, though.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bound to Be Me

Mother, Runner & Book Reviewer

The Writer's Notebook

Sue Featherstone

Bits about Books

Book Reviews | Blogging | Blog Tours | Social Media Advice for Authors

Thebooknookae

Bookstagram & Twitter: @thebooknookae

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

FNM

100 Books and Reviews for 2017

Random Things Through My Letterbox

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Sunkissed Scribbles

Books and Body Slams!

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

All About Reviews

My personal thoughts about products I tried.

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Stephanie's Novel Fiction

Sharing my life through my love of reading and the joys of books!

The Stacked Shelf

All things to do with books.

Mrs Bloggs' Books

The Average Reader

The Villain Library

Your every day Villain with a passion for books

Linda's Book Obsession:

Book Reviewer and Lover of Books

Katina's Closet

Your One Stop Shopping E-Boutique

Naty's Bookshelf

Why socialize when you can read?

The Paperback Princess

So many books, so little time..a bibliophile's thoughts on all bookish things. Sometimes I even like to talk about food & television.

Chellsandbooks

Reviews Interviews giveaways

The Mystique Reader

Lost in the love of words, books and colors

Jessica loves to read

"A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads only lives one." - George R.R. Martin

Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Book reviews and ramblings from a book mad mum of two!

scarlettseleva

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

Flippin' Pages

Reviews from ladies who love to read

black books blog

Welcome to black books blog

Viviaggia.com

Send us your trip's photos

Books n All

#booksnall

The Pioneer Girl Project

Laura Ingalls Wilder's Pioneer Girl

Renée Précis

"It is not about how many words you can read per minute but rather how many new ideas you are left with after you have finished reading." -Katy Huller

Hobby Reads

Because everyone's hobby is having fun! Visit us @ www.kensingtonbooks.com

This Is My Truth Now

Fiction, Books, TV, Trips & Reviews... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

Bookish Endeavors

Reading and dreaming

LittleMissNoSleep Daydreams of Books

Insomniac Seeks Good Books for Night-time Adventures

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

