Bookish Love #1

booklove
Source: Pixabay

From time to time, I come across a photo that symbolizes the love of books to me. I thought it would be a fun addition to the blog to share these photos with you, so today, I’ll start with this one.

When I look at this photo, it reminds me of how I first fell in love with reading. It was a magical moment for me when all those lines and dots and squiggly curves revealed their mysteries to me. Those odd little symbols became letters, and those letters became words. String those words together, and they formed sentences. Sentences became paragraphs, and paragraphs became stories. Wonderful, beautiful stories!

Time flew by, for I was on one adventure after another. I read, for myself, all the Little Golden Books that were once read to me. In time, I was exploring Green Gables with Anne Shirley. Laughing at all the silly things Amelia Bedelia did. Heading west in a covered wagon with the Ingalls family. Everywhere I went, a book was my constant companion, and woe to anyone who tried to take it from me!

Some things have changed through the years. I’m still reading everything I can get my hands on, including some of the books I first fell in love with as a child, but now I discover new authors and books through my use of the internet. My personal library has grown to immense proportions, but space isn’t the problem it once was, thanks to ebooks. Sites like Goodreads and Facebook introduced me to others whose passion for reading matched mine, and WordPress has enabled me to share my love of reading with others.

Whether I’m opening a book for the first time, and smelling that unique bookish smell, or powering up my Kindle and swiping my way to the first page, there is one thing that will never change. In doing either of those things, I’m taking my first step into the unknown, beginning a brand new journey of adventure that can only be found within the magical world of books.

