Me and My Sisters by Sinéad Moriarty #Review @sinead_moriarty @bookouture

Me and My Sisters by Sinead Moriarty

Me and My Sisters tells the story of three Irish sisters—Julie, Louise, and Sophie—and how their relationships with each other begins to change and become more meaningful when their lives face unexpected challenges and upheavals. Julie is an exhausted mother of four very young boys—including a rambunctious set of triplets—struggling to make ends meet on her husband’s reduced salary. Louise is a very successful lawyer in a London law firm whose world is turned upside down when she becomes pregnant and decided to raise the baby on her own. And then there’s Sophie, the former model married to a very rich man with whom she has a perfectly-behaved daughter, living a life of glamour and ease until an unexpected disaster destroys every aspect of her life.

This is the first book I’ve read by Sinéad Moriarty, and I’m not exaggerating when I say that I was truly blown away. You know those books you read that immediately draws you in and emotionally attaches you to the characters in ways other books can’t? This is one of those books. I was overjoyed when one of the sisters was happy, and when one of them struggled with something, I felt every bit as frustrated or devastated as they did. As each one overcame obstacles, I would literally whoop with glee, grinning from ear to ear, and pause my reading so I could take a moment to enjoy their well-deserved triumphs.

It’s always a delight to discover a new-to-me author whose words have the power to elicit such a response from me. I love reading authors who write such vivid characters and situations that I dread reaching the end. I’m just not ready to let go of the characters whose stories have taken hold of my heart. I was thrilled to discover I wouldn’t have to say goodbye forever to Julie, Louise, and Sophie. Book two of the Devlin Sisters series, The Secrets Sisters Keep, is on my reading queue for later this month, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next for the sisters!

I can’t recommend this book enough. Fans of women’s fiction must read this book, whether you’re familiar with Sinéad Moriarty’s work or not. I truly believe you will love this book as much as I do. And after you’ve read it, be sure to add Moriarty to your author watch-list. If Me and My Sisters is any indication, this is one author whose books you will NOT want to miss!

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of Bookouture via Netgalley.

add to goodreads

Author: Sinéad Moriarty

Title: Me and My Sisters

Series: Devlin Sisters #1

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Published: 5/19/2016 by Bookouture

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

book worth reading

About the Book

‘Witty, touching, easy to read…I really and truly loved it.’ The Book Bag

A sister always knows you better than you know yourself

Julie would do anything for her family. She loves her four boys and her devoted husband, but is struggling to keep sane and finds herself turning to an online mum’s group for some much needed advice.

Louise is at the peak of her career, a successful lawyer in a male-dominated world. She’s always been there to offer support to her sisters. But when she falls pregnant and decides to raise the child on her own, for the first time ever, she needs a helping hand herself.

Sophie has it all: the luxury lifestyle, the millionaire husband and a perfect daughter. She never expected that she might one day lose everything. But will she let the new cracks in her perfect life show, and tell her sisters that she’s in trouble?

The three Devlin sisters haven’t always seen eye to eye. But now that they each face the hardest times in their lives, they might just have more in common than they think.

Me and My Sisters is a heart-warming, funny and touching story of love, friendship and the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.

About the Author

Sinéad Moriarty
Sinéad Moriarty

Sinead was born and raised in Dublin where she grew up surrounded by books. Growing up, Sinead says she was inspired by watching her mother writing at the kitchen table and then being published. From that moment on, her childhood dream was to write a novel.

It was at the age of thirty, while working as a journalist in London that she began to write creatively in her spare time – after work, at lunch times … and, truth be told, during work hours. After a couple of years toying with ideas, she joined a creative writing group and began to write The Baby Trail. The bitter-sweet comedy of a couple struggling to conceive hit a nerve in publishing circles. It was snapped up by Penguin in the UK and Ireland and has, to date, been translated into twenty-five languages.

Since writing The Baby Trail, Sinead has moved back to Dublin where she lives with her husband and three children and their little black cat, Minnie.

Author photo and bio via Bookouture.

Advertisements