TGB News

Monthly Wrap-Up: September ’16

wrap

September was a whirlwind month for me, and it feels like it was no sooner here, than it was gone.Summer is gone, and autumn arrived with a welcomed respite from the heat. So what did I accomplish in September? otb3I changed the theme of my blog (more than once), and I’m very pleased with the way it looks at the moment. It’s in my nature to change things up regularly, so this isn’t likely to be the last time I do it.

I was recently listed on the Book Review Directory and The Book Blogger List. I wasn’t prepared the flood of requests that poured in! I had to temporarily close requests to give myself a chance to catch up.

Books I Read

mm_thohl bwbbbw_rat dg_igymb
mhw_ap tedd_de 31848329

 Did you miss my review? Clicking the cover will take you to it.

Book Haul

Purchases:

Jacques Pepin New Complete Techniques Saving Sophie The House Girl The Memory Box

Click the covers for more info.

With all the books I’m reading from Netgalley, I rarely buy books anymore. Thanks to winning an Amazon gift card from a Facebook group I belong to, I had the perfect excuse to indulge myself a little. I’ve been seeing a lot of buzz from bookbloggers about the three novels listed above, so it was a no-brainer that I HAD to have them.

I’m most excited about getting the Jacques Pépin book, though. After I  started watching his series More Fast Food My Way on PBS, he quickly became my cooking guru, and I’ve wanted this book for a long time. When I found the Kindle edition on Amazon for $1.99, I was thrilled! I still plan to get the hardcover version at some point, but this will do nicely for now.

Netgalley ARCs:

Le Chateau by Sarah Ridout ewwcb_ee 31489055 27419654
30753832 29508185 A Mother's Confession by Kelly Rimmer The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

Click the covers for more info.

Review Copies:

Justice Unknown by Patty Richmond A Smile in One Eye: a Tear in the Other by Ralph Webster Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt The Other Side of Courage: The Saga of Elizabeth Blackwell by Robert Nordmeyer

Click the covers for more info.

Blog Tours

 

sos 32147900

Click the covers for more info.

I was delighted to participate in the tour for Simon Laffy’s Seed of Satan at the end of September, and I’m hoping my review persuaded others to read it.

I recently signed up to take part in the blog tour for Leslie DJ’s That Girl. I’m currently reading this book, and enjoying it quite a bit! My stop on the tour is set for Tuesday, October 25th, so stay tuned for my review!

Beyond the Blog

My favorite part about September is summed up nicely here:

twd

Yeaaaaah, baby! The season seven premier of The Walking Dead is nigh upon us, and it’s been an excruciating wait. I’m deeply invested in all these characters, particularly the Atlanta Five. As badly as I want to know who Negan “Lucille’d”, I’m pretty sure it’s going to be emotionally traumatic to watch it. I’m excited for the show to start up again, but I’m dreading it, as well.

Meanwhile, a couple of my favorites have already begun airing new episodes, and I’ve started watching a new series, as well.

blacklist
Blacklist (NBC)

Blindspot
Blindspot (NBC)

Designated Survivor
Blacklist (NBC)

Quantico
Quantico (ABC)

It’s a bit early to say for sure, but Designated Survivor has an excellent shot at being my favorite new series of the year.

I’m also looking forward to watching:

agents-of-shield
Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC)

the-flash
The Flash (CW)

supergirl
Supergirl (CW)

supernatural
Supernatural (CW)

 Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. has already begun, but I keep forgetting to watch it.

Well, that wraps it up for the month of September. Until next time…

happyreading

12 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: September ’16”

Share Your Thoughts

