Review: This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty

This Child of Mine cover

How far would you go to save a child?

Single mom Anna and her eighteen-year-old daughter Sophie have always got along like two peas in a pod. Anna would do anything for Sophie but what if, years ago, she went too far to protect her?

Teenager Mandy has always worried about her fragile mom, artist Laura. Mandy knows she has never come to terms with the loss of her first child, but her mom won’t speak about it. Is she hiding something, and how much does Mandy want to find out?

When Sophie makes a chance discovery about her mother’s past, her whole life is turned upside-down. And, as she begins a search for the truth, her world collides with Anna’s and Sophie’s. What is the secret that connects their lives? And is the mother-daughter bond strong enough to withstand the devastating truth?

This Child of Mine is an emotional and gripping story about motherhood, love and loss for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Author: Sinéad Moriarty

Title:  This Child of Mine

Genre:  Women’s Fiction

Published: October 12th 2016 by Bookouture

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of Netgalley and Bookouture.

Sinéad Moriarty has written yet another emotionally intense novel guaranteed to have you reaching for a box of tissues. This Child of Mine tells the story of two mothers, two daughters, and decisions made long ago that affected the course of all their lives.

There’s very little I can mention in this review that wouldn’t be a major spoiler, which makes this an extremely difficult review to write. Instead, I’ll make a few brief observations.

Personality-wise, Anna and Laura are complete opposites. The two things they have in common is that they are both single mothers, and the unconditional love they have for their children. Both are willing to do what’s best for their children, no matter how difficult or painful it may be for them to do it.

Sophie has always been close with her mother, but a secret Anna kept from her leaves her feeling shocked and confused. Working out how she feels about it is made harder because she’s always turned to Anna for guidance, and she’s unable to do this now.

Mandy has a difficult relationship with Laura.She loves her, but often feels suffocated by her, which makes her push Laura away even though she understands why her mother is over-protective.

I felt a great deal of sympathy (most of the time) for all of them, but there were times Anna and Laura really got on my nerves (which was fitting given the particular points in the story where it happened). There was only one portion of the story—concerning Sophie and Mandy—that I didn’t care for, because I didn’t find it believable for Sophie’s character to be in that situation. It felt a little too cliché, in my opinion.

Overall, this was a great book that I enjoyed reading very much, and I definitely recommend it to others.

About the Author

Sinéad Moriarty
Sinéad Moriarty

Sinéad was born and raised in Dublin where she grew up surrounded by books. Growing up, Sinéad says she was inspired by watching her mother writing at the kitchen table and then being published. From that moment on, her childhood dream was to write a novel.

It was at the age of thirty, while working as a journalist in London that she began to write creatively in her spare time – after work, at lunch times … and, truth be told, during work hours. After a couple of years toying with ideas, she joined a creative writing group and began to write The Baby Trail. The bitter-sweet comedy of a couple struggling to conceive hit a nerve in publishing circles. It was snapped up by Penguin in the UK and Ireland and has, to date, been translated into twenty-five languages.

Since writing The Baby Trail, Sinéad has moved back to Dublin where she lives with her husband and three children and their little black cat, Minnie.

Author photo and bio via Bookouture.

 

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “Review: This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bound to Be Me

Mother, Runner & Book Reviewer

The Writer's Notebook

Sue Featherstone

Bits about Books

Book Reviews | Blogging | Blog Tours | Social Media Advice for Authors

Thebooknookae

Bookstagram & Twitter: @thebooknookae

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

FNM

100 Books and Reviews for 2017

Random Things Through My Letterbox

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Sunkissed Scribbles

Books and Body Slams!

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

All About Reviews

My personal thoughts about products I tried.

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Stephanie's Novel Fiction

Sharing my life through my love of reading and the joys of books!

The Stacked Shelf

All things to do with books.

Mrs Bloggs' Books

The Average Reader

The Villain Library

Your every day Villain with a passion for books

Linda's Book Obsession:

Book Reviewer and Lover of Books

Katina's Closet

Your One Stop Shopping E-Boutique

Naty's Bookshelf

Why socialize when you can read?

The Paperback Princess

So many books, so little time..a bibliophile's thoughts on all bookish things. Sometimes I even like to talk about food & television.

Chellsandbooks

Reviews Interviews giveaways

The Mystique Reader

Lost in the love of words, books and colors

Jessica loves to read

"A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads only lives one." - George R.R. Martin

Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Book reviews and ramblings from a book mad mum of two!

scarlettseleva

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

Flippin' Pages

Reviews from ladies who love to read

black books blog

Welcome to black books blog

Viviaggia.com

Send us your trip's photos

Books n All

#booksnall

The Pioneer Girl Project

Laura Ingalls Wilder's Pioneer Girl

Renée Précis

"It is not about how many words you can read per minute but rather how many new ideas you are left with after you have finished reading." -Katy Huller

Hobby Reads

Because everyone's hobby is having fun! Visit us @ www.kensingtonbooks.com

This Is My Truth Now

Fiction, Books, TV, Trips & Reviews... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

Bookish Endeavors

Reading and dreaming

LittleMissNoSleep Daydreams of Books

Insomniac Seeks Good Books for Night-time Adventures

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

%d bloggers like this: