This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty #Review @sinead_moriarty @bookouture

This Child of Mine cover

Sinéad Moriarty has written yet another emotionally intense novel guaranteed to have you reaching for a box of tissues. This Child of Mine tells the story of two mothers, two daughters, and decisions made long ago that affected the course of all their lives.

There’s very little I can mention in this review that wouldn’t be a major spoiler, which makes this an extremely difficult review to write. Instead, I’ll make a few brief observations.

Personality-wise, Anna and Laura are complete opposites. The two things they have in common is that they are both single mothers, and the unconditional love they have for their children. Both are willing to do what’s best for their children, no matter how difficult or painful it may be for them to do it.

Sophie has always been close with her mother, but a secret Anna kept from her leaves her feeling shocked and confused. Working out how she feels about it is made harder because she’s always turned to Anna for guidance, and she’s unable to do this now.

Mandy has a difficult relationship with Laura.She loves her, but often feels suffocated by her, which makes her push Laura away even though she understands why her mother is over-protective.

I felt a great deal of sympathy (most of the time) for all of them, but there were times Anna and Laura really got on my nerves (which was fitting given the particular points in the story where it happened). There was only one portion of the story—concerning Sophie and Mandy—that I didn’t care for, because I didn’t find it believable for Sophie’s character to be in that situation. It felt a little too cliché, in my opinion.

Overall, this was a great book that I enjoyed reading very much, and I definitely recommend it to others.

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of Bookouture via Netgalley.

atg

Author: Sinéad Moriarty

Title:  This Child of Mine

Genre:  Women’s Fiction

Published: October 12th 2016 by Bookouture

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐


About the Book

How far would you go to save a child?

Single mom Anna and her eighteen-year-old daughter Sophie have always got along like two peas in a pod. Anna would do anything for Sophie but what if, years ago, she went too far to protect her?

Teenager Mandy has always worried about her fragile mom, artist Laura. Mandy knows she has never come to terms with the loss of her first child, but her mom won’t speak about it. Is she hiding something, and how much does Mandy want to find out?

When Sophie makes a chance discovery about her mother’s past, her whole life is turned upside-down. And, as she begins a search for the truth, her world collides with Anna’s and Sophie’s. What is the secret that connects their lives? And is the mother-daughter bond strong enough to withstand the devastating truth?

This Child of Mine is an emotional and gripping story about motherhood, love and loss for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain.

About the Author

Sinéad Moriarty
Sinéad Moriarty

Sinéad was born and raised in Dublin where she grew up surrounded by books. Growing up, Sinéad says she was inspired by watching her mother writing at the kitchen table and then being published. From that moment on, her childhood dream was to write a novel.

It was at the age of thirty, while working as a journalist in London that she began to write creatively in her spare time – after work, at lunch times … and, truth be told, during work hours. After a couple of years toying with ideas, she joined a creative writing group and began to write The Baby Trail. The bitter-sweet comedy of a couple struggling to conceive hit a nerve in publishing circles. It was snapped up by Penguin in the UK and Ireland and has, to date, been translated into twenty-five languages.

Since writing The Baby Trail, Sinéad has moved back to Dublin where she lives with her husband and three children and their little black cat, Minnie.

Author photo and bio via Bookouture.

 

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty #Review @sinead_moriarty @bookouture

Comments are closed.