Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris #Review @BAParisAuthor @StMartinsPress

Behind Closed Doors

It’s almost impossible for me to believe this is  a debut novel. If I didn’t know better, I would have assumed B.A. Paris to be an established, seasoned writer with at least a dozen novels previously published. (Novels I would have been feverishly hunting down so I could read them as soon as possible!) And yet… it is a debut novel. Wow.

The story of Jack and Grace, their past and their present, is told in alternating chapters. In the present chapters, we see their relationship as it is now. In the past chapters, we see how their relationship began. I’ve read many books this year (and in previous years) that utilize this storytelling method. It doesn’t flow well for every book that uses it, but it works very well for this one. It adds an even deeper level of dread, in this reader’s opinion, that wouldn’t be there if the story was told in a linear fashion.

This is a story best read cold, with no knowledge of anything that happens. (Which is why I’m not giving any details at all in this review.) The enticing blurb was more than enough to draw me in, and not knowing what to expect made the story even more chilling. The ending was perfection, and I may or may not have punched the air as I read it.

Simply put, this is a book you DON’T want to miss out on. Get it, read it, and put B.A. Paris on your Author Radar… because she has certainly earned a spot on mine.

I would like to thank St. Martin’s Press for the awesome giveaway of 10,000 hardcover copies they did to promote this book, which is how I received my copy.

atg

Author: B.A. Paris

Title: Behind Closed Doors

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Published: August 9th 2016 by St. Martin’s Press

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

book worth reading


About the Book

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?


About the Author

Author B.A. Paris
Author B.A. Paris

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors, B. A. Paris, grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked in finance and as a teacher.

Photo via publisher website . Bio via Google.

14 thoughts on “Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris #Review @BAParisAuthor @StMartinsPress

    1. I’ve been voting for it. (It’s the only one I’ve read in that category.) I like a nice dose of romance in suspense/thrillers, too, because it makes the stakes even higher when there’s danger. I also like the opposite though, because it scares the heck out of me. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It was! I saw on her Goodreads author page that the movie rights have already been sold. I don’t know if it can possibly be as good as the movie in my mind, but if/when it gets made, I’d like to see it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I do have a tendency to get totally wrapped up in a good story. 🙂 This one was just fantastic in every way, and all the hype about it is well deserved! I hope you love it as much as I did when you read it!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.