Review: Phantom Limb by Lucinda Berry

Phantom Limb cover

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of the author.

Emily and Elizabeth Rooth have deep psychological scars due the horrific abuse they suffered as very young children. What could have been a tragedy becomes a rescue, allowing the girls to escape their hellish existence in their mother’s home and be adopted by a loving couple. Some wounds never fully heal, however, and the girls are unable to let themselves trust their new parents—or anyone else—with their secrets and fears, depending only on each other and dealing with their emotional pain as best they can. At 18, Elizabeth is a college student sharing an apartment with a severely depressed, self-harming Emily, and spending most of her free time alone with her sister and keeping her in the dark about her boyfriend. When the truth is revealed, it kicks off a chain of events leading to Emily’s death and Elizabeth’s stay in a psychiatric hospital. In order to heal, she has to face the unbearable truths of her repressed memories, and learn how to finally let Emily go… if she can.

We’ve all read books at one time or another that don’t  live up to the hype, but this book is most definitely NOT one of them. Phantom Limb is absolutely phenomenal, and I highly recommend it to fans of psychological thrillers.  Finely crafted characters and an intricately woven plot culminated in an ending so unexpected, it took my breath away. This book was a pleasure to read, and earned Lucinda Berry a spot on my Author Radar.

 

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Author: Lucinda Berry

Title: Phantom Limb

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Published: January 17th, 2017 by Rise Press

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Book Worth Reading Ribbon

divider

Purchase Link

Amazon

divider

About the Book

Emily and Elizabeth spend their childhood locked in a bedroom and terrorized by a mother who drinks too much and disappears for days. The identical twins are rescued by a family determined to be their saviors.

But there’s some horrors love can’t erase…

Elizabeth wakes in a hospital, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak. The last thing she remembers is finding Emily’s body in their bathroom. Days before, she was falling in love and starting college. Now, she’s surrounded by men who talk to themselves and women who pull out their eyebrows.

As she delves deeper into the mystery surrounding Emily’s death, she discovers shocking secrets and holes in her memory that force her to remember what she’s worked so hard to forget-the beatings, the blood, the special friends. Her life spins out of control at a terrifying speed as she desperately tries to unravel the psychological puzzle of her past before it’s too late.

Phantom Limb is a character-driven mystery that begs to be read in a single setting. The shocking and shattering conclusion will make you go back and read it again.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, and The Girl With No Past.

“Dark suspense at its finest”…Thriller Beats 

divider

About the Author

lucinda-berry
Lucinda Berry

Dr. Lucinda Berry’s background is as unique as her stories. She has a Ph.D. in clinical psychology, specializing in trauma and children. She is the Assistant Director of Evidence-based Practice at UCLA’s National Center for Child Traumatic Stress. She uses her clinical experience to create compelling tales that blur the lines between fiction and nonfiction. If you want to be notified of upcoming new releases, please visit: https://about.me/Lucindaberry

Author photo and Bio via Goodreads.

Save

Save

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Review: Phantom Limb by Lucinda Berry

    1. Thank you, Inge! I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on the book. It’s early to say so, but something tells me this will be on my list of top reads this year.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bound to Be Me

Mother, Runner & Book Reviewer

The Writer's Notebook

Sue Featherstone

Bits about Books

Book Reviews | Blogging | Blog Tours | Social Media Advice for Authors

Thebooknookae

Bookstagram & Twitter: @thebooknookae

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

FNM

100 Books and Reviews for 2017

Random Things Through My Letterbox

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Sunkissed Scribbles

Books and Body Slams!

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

All About Reviews

My personal thoughts about products I tried.

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Stephanie's Novel Fiction

Sharing my life through my love of reading and the joys of books!

The Stacked Shelf

All things to do with books.

Mrs Bloggs' Books

The Average Reader

The Villain Library

Your every day Villain with a passion for books

Linda's Book Obsession:

Book Reviewer and Lover of Books

Katina's Closet

Your One Stop Shopping E-Boutique

Naty's Bookshelf

Why socialize when you can read?

The Paperback Princess

So many books, so little time..a bibliophile's thoughts on all bookish things. Sometimes I even like to talk about food & television.

Chellsandbooks

Reviews Interviews giveaways

The Mystique Reader

Lost in the love of words, books and colors

Jessica loves to read

"A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads only lives one." - George R.R. Martin

Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Book reviews and ramblings from a book mad mum of two!

scarlettseleva

❤ Books. Reviews. Geekery. ❤

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

Flippin' Pages

Reviews from ladies who love to read

black books blog

Welcome to black books blog

Viviaggia.com

Send us your trip's photos

Books n All

#booksnall

The Pioneer Girl Project

Laura Ingalls Wilder's Pioneer Girl

Renée Précis

"It is not about how many words you can read per minute but rather how many new ideas you are left with after you have finished reading." -Katy Huller

Hobby Reads

Because everyone's hobby is having fun! Visit us @ www.kensingtonbooks.com

This Is My Truth Now

Fiction, Books, TV, Trips & Reviews... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

Bookish Endeavors

Reading and dreaming

LittleMissNoSleep Daydreams of Books

Insomniac Seeks Good Books for Night-time Adventures

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

%d bloggers like this: