Book Reviews

#Review: The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher @kerryfswayne @bookouture

The Silent Wife cover

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of Netgalley and Bookouture.

Shortly before publication day rolled around, this book—previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives— was given a makeover. While I didn’t dislike the original title and cover image, I have to agree that the changes were for the best. The new cover image is captivating; the new title succinct and just a bit mysterious.

I’ve come to expect characters who feel authentic and stay true to their roles in Fisher’s books, and she definitely delivered on that score. Whether it was the image they presented in front of others, or the true selves revealed only in their thoughts and/or private moments, there was never a moment of atypical behavior. (I’ve read many books where that was not the case, so it’s worth mentioning.)

While Maggie’s story is interesting, I have to admit Lara’s story was far more fascinating to me. The things Lara kept silent about—as well as the why and how behind her silence—were far more serious and worrisome than the things Maggie kept hidden, in my opinion. I felt far more concerned about her than I ever did about Maggie, even though I cared about her story, as well. The silence is shattered for both women in an explosive scene that shines the unflattering light of truth on those closest to them, shaking the entire family to the core and changing all their lives forever. One character in particular gets some much needed comeuppance and I loved every moment of it!

This is a great read by a great author, and I definitely recommend it!

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Author: Kerry Fisher

Title: The Silent Wife

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Published: February 24th, 2017 by Bookouture

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

amazonhotpinkdots

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he’d done something terrible?

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage.

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. The one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife Caitlin. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves?

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price.

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain. 

hotpinkdots

About the Author

Author Kerry Fisher
Author Kerry Fisher

Born in Peterborough, Kerry Fisher studied French and Italian, and taught English in Corsica and Spain before climbing to holiday rep and grape picker in Tuscany. She eventually returned to England to ‘get a proper job’, and spent two years in features at Essentials magazine. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenagers and a very naughty lab/schnauzer called Poppy.

Kerry’s first novel, The School Gate Survival Guide, was published by Avon, HarperCollins in 2014. Her second book, The Island Escape, came out in May 2015. It won first prize at the York Festival of Writing for the opening line: ‘I was wearing the wrong bra for sitting in a police cell’.

Author photo and bio courtesy of Bookouture.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “#Review: The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher @kerryfswayne @bookouture”

    1. I liked TSW a lot, but I may be a little biased because I love Kerry Fisher’s books. 😉

      Between the changes to the title and the cover image, I think the best change was for the latter. The original cover wasn’t bad, but this one is much more appealing.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I think I also prefer the new title/cover. The first title sort of gave away the plot-line. I agree with you about Lara’s story although I also liked Maggie’s story especially in regards to dealing with her step daughter. Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 💜

      You know, I didn’t think about it that way, but you’re right… the original title did give a big hint about the plot.

      The best part of Maggie’s story was definitely the issues she had with her step-daughter. Lara’s storyline had more complexity, not to mention, her secret was huge compared to Maggie’s. She had a lot more at stake.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s