Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer #Review @carolewyer @bookouture

Secrets of the Dead cover

Secrets of the Dead is the second installment of the DI Robyn Carter series. I haven’t read the first book, Little Girl Lost, but I didn’t feel it diminished my ability to enjoy this story. And oh my… did I ever enjoy this story!

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

DI Robyn Carter is on the hunt for a killer. Three people are dead, their murders obviously connected—but how? What did they have in common, apart from a cryptic note found on their bodies? DI Carter is determined to find out, hopefully before anyone else turns up dead.

This story has a fairly large cast of characters, but they are all, in their way, crucial to the story. I’m in awe of how Wyer presents the reader with multiple threads and delicately weaves them all together for a mind-blowing tale overflowing with thrills and chills. I can’t say much about the particulars of the story, other than to note it is a fast-paced story with plenty of action that kept me reading into the wee hours of the night.

I’m looking forward to reading more about DI Robyn Carter in the future, and will be keeping my eye out for news about the next book in the series. In the meantime, I’ll look for a way to work the first book into my reading schedule!

If you love reading a good crime thriller, I highly recommend giving Secrets of the Dead a read. You won’t be sorry!

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of Bookouture via Netgalley.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Author: Carol Wyer

Title: Secrets of the Dead

Series: DI Robyn Carter #2

Genre: Crime Thriller

Published: May 30th, 2017 by Bookouture

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

divider

Purchase Link

Amazon

divider

About the Book

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

divider

About the Author

Author Carol Wyer
Author Carol Wyer

As a child Carol Wyer was always moving, and relied on humour to fit in at new schools. A funny short story won her popularity, planting the seed of becoming a writer. Her career spans dry cleaning, running a language teaching company, and boxercise coaching. Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published by Safkhet and journalism in many magazines.

Carol won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015), and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

Author photo and bio via Bookouture.

 

Save

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer #Review @carolewyer @bookouture

  1. I just reviewed this one yesterday and very much like you I am in awe of her ability to create those different threads coming together perfectly at the right time! Do read the first one (which I loved even a little bit more) while we wait for number 3. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.