Bookstagram Book Haul (7-3-17)

bookstagram graphic
Click this graphic to follow me on Instagram!

I’ll be the first to admit that I suck at Instagram. I hate using my phone to take pictures. They never turn out the way I want them to, either because my hands are shaking or I moved a bit. (Hey, a girl’s gotta breathe, right?!) All the filters in the world aren’t gonna help a blurry picture look better. And you might call me old-fashioned, but it feels unnatural to tap a screen rather than pressing the shutter-release. I’m much more comfortable using my Nikon. Not that I have a whole lot of skill with that, either, but still… WAY better results.  Seriously.

And yet, I wanted to share photos of my latest book mail.

So I (somewhat reluctantly) put my distaste for the phone camera aside and started using it to contribute my modest book hauls to Bookstagram. I’m not nearly as creative as some of the fabulous Bookstagrammers out there, with all those pretty backgrounds and perfect placement. I aspire to one day post photos as beautiful as Chelsea’s over at The Suspense is Thrilling Me, but for now I’m happy to settle for a picture where the the title and author name can be read without causing someone permanent damage to their vision from trying to read it. Ha!

Now that I’ve properly frightened you by listing my (lack of) Instagram skills… here’s my latest book haul.

Blurb:

From the author of the highly acclaimed The Railwayman’s Wife, called a “literary and literate gem” by Psychology Today, comes an emotionally resonant and profound new novel of two families, interconnected through the house that bears witness to their lives.

When Elsie Gormley leaves the Brisbane house in which she has lived for more than sixty years, Lucy Kiss and her family move in, eager to establish their new life. As they settle in, Lucy and her husband Ben struggle to navigate their transformation from adventurous lovers to new parents, taking comfort in memories of their vibrant past as they begin to unearth who their future selves might be. But the house has secrets of its own, and the rooms seem to share recollections of Elsie’s life with Lucy.

In her nearby nursing home, Elsie traces the span of her life—the moments she can’t bear to let go and the places to which she dreams of returning. Her beloved former house is at the heart of her memories of marriage, motherhood, love, and death, and the boundary between present and past becomes increasingly porous for both her and Lucy.

Over the course of one hot Brisbane summer, two families’ stories intersect in sudden and unexpected ways. Through the richly intertwined narratives of two ordinary, extraordinary women, Ashley Hay uses her “lyrical prose, poetic dialogue, and stunning imagery” (RT magazine) to weave an intricate, bighearted story of what it is to be human.

#bookmail📮 Book #2 is The Resurrection of Joan Ashby by Cheris Wolas. #bookstagram #bookblogger #bookworm

A post shared by Betty (@thegeekybibliophile) on

Blurb:

I viewed the consumptive nature of love as a threat to serious women. But the wonderful man I just married believes as I do―work is paramount, absolutely no children―and now love seems to me quite marvelous.

These words are spoken to a rapturous audience by Joan Ashby, a brilliant and intense literary sensation acclaimed for her explosively dark and singular stories.

When Joan finds herself unexpectedly pregnant, she is stunned by Martin’s delight, his instant betrayal of their pact. She makes a fateful, selfless decision then, to embrace her unintentional family.

Challenged by raising two precocious sons, it is decades before she finally completes her masterpiece novel. Poised to reclaim the spotlight, to resume the intended life she gave up for love, a betrayal of Shakespearean proportion forces her to question every choice she has made.

Epic, propulsive, incredibly ambitious, and dazzlingly written, The Resurrection of Joan Ashby is a story about sacrifice and motherhood, the burdens of expectation and genius. Cherise Wolas’s gorgeous debut introduces an indelible heroine candid about her struggles and unapologetic in her ambition.

I’ll (try) to remember to share future bookstagram posts here, now that I’ve figured out how to embed the images. And if y’all are really lucky… my Instagram skills might start to improve, as well!

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Bookstagram Book Haul (7-3-17)

    1. If I can give someone a reason to laugh, then I consider that a good day. 🙂 I hear ya on taking multiple pictures to get one that’s fairly decent… same here! Drives me crazy. Especially when I have everything the way I want it, and then one of my cats walk across just as I take the picture. Little stinkers. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.