Book Reviews

Between the Lies by Michelle Adams #Review @madamswriter @StMartinsPress

betweenthelies

A car accident left Chloe badly injured, and when she awakens from a coma a month later, she can’t remember anything about her life or the accident. Despite her family telling her they want to help her remember her life, Chloe can’t shake the feeling that she’s being lied to… but why?

When I opened this up on my Kindle, I only meant to peak at the first chapter. I was already reading three other books, and the last thing I needed was to start another one. It only took me a couple of minutes to decide to put the other books on hold, and devote my full attention to this book… and here I am, less than 24 hours later, writing this review. If that’s not the definition of unputdownable, I don’t know what is.

Chloe was a fascinating character. One minute, she was certain she’d recalled a memory, only to find herself doubting it was real in the next. Her uncertainty about her life was a constant throughout the story, and when she made discoveries that contradicted what she’d been told, I felt the same shock and/or confusion that she felt—and some of those discoveries were whoppers!

It didn’t take long for me to decide that most of the characters were completely untrustworthy. I didn’t believe anything they told Chloe, and kept trying to figure out why they were lying to her. I won’t say whether I was right or wrong about all of them… but I did have one in particular pegged as a manipulative liar.It wasn’t much of an accomplishment, however, as I was oblivious to the biggest liar of them all. I was stunned, because I thought they were truly trying to help Chloe figure out what happened on the night of the accident.

Simply put, I thought this story was absolutely fantastic. As promised by the blurb, it kept me guessing all the way to the end. And what an ending it was! Even after I knew who did what, and why, Adams whipped out one last twist that was perhaps the most satisfying of them all. Brava!

I highly recommend Between the Lies to all readers who love a twisty psychological thriller. I hope you’ll love it as much as I did.

I can’t wait to see Adams comes up with next!

I received an advance reading copy of this book courtesy of St. Martin’s Griffin via Netgalley.

Add to Goodreads

Author: Michelle Adams
Title: Between the Lies
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publication Date: March 5, 2019 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Rating: 5 stars

About the Book

In the vein of Allison Brennan, Michelle Adams’s Between the Lies is an addictive psychological thriller with twists that keep the reader guessing until the last page, in which a woman who’s lost her memory is back home with a family she doesn’t know—who are keeping secrets of their own. The truth is hiding between the lies.

What would you do if you woke up and didn’t know who you were?

Chloe Daniels regains consciousness in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
She doesn’t recognise the strangers who call themselves family. She can’t even remember her own name.

What if your past remained a mystery?

As she slowly recovers, her parents and sister begin to share details of her life.
The successful career. The seaside home. The near-fatal car crash.
But Chloe senses they’re keeping dark secrets—and her determination to uncover the truth will have devastating consequences.

What if the people you should be able to trust are lying to you?

About the Author

MICHELLE ADAMS is a British writer living abroad in Cyprus. She is a part-time scientist and has published several science fiction novels under a pseudonym, including a YA dystopian series. If You Knew My Sister (published as My Sister in the UK) is her first psychological thriller.

 

4 thoughts on “Between the Lies by Michelle Adams #Review @madamswriter @StMartinsPress”

Comments are closed.