Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake #Review @AuthorRDrake @StMartinsPress

justbetweenus

What would you be willing to do in order to help a friend?

Alison, Sarah, Julie, and Heather have children attending the same school, and it wasn’t long before the four moms became friends, regularly meeting for coffee after they drop their kids of at school. Alison is concerned when she notices a bruise on Heather’s wrist, even more so after Heather hastily covers it and swears it’s nothing. When it becomes evident that Heather’s husband is abusive towards her, the women try to talk Heather into leaving, but she refuses. Her friends worry that Heather’s husband might kill her, given the signs of increasing violence, but Heather isn’t the one who ends up dead—and when she finally asked for help, it’s not the sort of request any of her friends ever expected to receive.

What I Liked:

The entire premise of this book was fascinating to me; basically taking the hypothetical question about what you’d be willing to do for your friends, and forcing the issue with a set of circumstances that demand immediate action without time to consider the consequences. The situation in the book is an extreme one, to be sure, but I think everyone can identify with being put on the spot by a friend who needs something immediately. You do (or don’t do) something in that moment, and don’t have a chance to think about consequences until later, and then you worry over whether or not you did the right thing. That being said, it was extremely easy for me to go along with the plot. I had no problem understanding why the women chose to do what they did, or why they worried themselves sick over it later.

The story is told from the perspective of each woman, and I liked having insight into each woman’s private thoughts on things, as well as their feelings about one another. The events of that night would put a strain on their friendship, and it was nice to see that reflected in each of them as the story progressed.

Every good story has shocking plot twists, and the big twist in Just Between Us was fantastic! I felt as if I should have known it was coming, in retrospect, but I didn’t have a clue and was left wide-eyed in shock when it came. I want to say so much more about this, but it would completely ruin the story for those who haven’t read it, so I’d better not. Trust me when I say it was excellent, and made me want to go back and re-read certain scenes now that I possessed this new knowledge.

What I Didn’t Like:

Umm… I didn’t like that the story came to an end… does that count?

Final Thoughts:

Just Between Us is a fabulous novel filled with suspense and intrigue. The characters are well-written and vividly detailed with a plot that is certain to keep the reader fully engaged and reading well into the night. Full of unexpected twists and a shocking reveal, Drake has written a domestic suspense that will leave you breathless.

Highly recommend this book! If you haven’t read it yet, be sure to add it to your reading list… and you can thank me later. 😉

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of St. Martin’s Press via Netgalley .

 

add to goodreads

Author: Rebecca Drake

Title: Just Between Us

Genre: Suspense

Published: January 9, 2018 by St. Martin’s Press

Rating: 4 stars

About the Book

Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage.

Advertisements

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn #Review @AJFinnBooks @wmmorrowbooks

The Woman in the Window cover

If you’re looking for a January read with great atmosphere that oozes suspense and is simply impossible to put down, you need look no further than The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn.

The story centers on Anna Fox, an agoraphobic woman living alone in New York City. Separated from her husband and daughter, Anna is lonely and spends her days drinking wine and watches her neighbors when she isn’t watching old black-and-white movies. Unable to leave her house, Anna’s world is small, yet safe and predictable, until she sees something frightening happen at her neighbor’s house one night. Or did she? Was it real, or—as others suggested—just something she imagined?

I’m not going to discuss any specifics about the plot, but I will say that the descriptions I’ve seen of this book being regarded to as a “Hitchcockian thriller” are absolutely appropriate. Anna’s life begins to echo, somewhat, the old movies she’s so fond of watching. There is a menacing atmosphere that hovers around Anna throughout most of the book, steadily building until it reaches a terrifying crescendo.

This was a gripping read that was well worth the hours of sleep I lost when I couldn’t stop reading “just one more chapter.”The suspense had me on the edge of my seat, the plot twists never failed to shock me, and the ending was extremely satisfying for this reader.

Finn’s writing was superb throughout, and I especially appreciated the atmosphere he created throughout the story.  It was deliciously creepy much of the time, and I enjoyed it immensely. The fact that this is Finn’s debut novel is simply stunning to me. If his first novel is this good, I can’t WAIT to see what he comes up with next!

Highly recommending this book to everyone. You don’t want to miss out on this one!

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of William Morrow via Edelweiss.

 

add to goodreads

Author: A. J. Finn

Title: The Woman in the Window

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Suspense

Expected publication: January 2nd, 2018 by William Morrow

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About the Book

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone, a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious, and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

About the Author

A. J. Finn (Source: Goodreads)
A. J. Finn (Source: Goodreads)

A. J. Finn has written for numerous publications, including the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, and the Times Literary Supplement (UK). A native of New York, Finn lived in England for ten years before returning to New York City.

Facebook logo  Twitter Instagram Goodreads

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen #Review #BlogTour @greerkh @sarahpekkanen ‏@StMartinsPress

WifeBetweenUs_BlogTourBannerv2r1

I’m not going to go into any details about the book in my review, which will shorten it a great deal, but believe me—I’m doing everyone who hasn’t read it yet a huge favor.  For maximum reading enjoyment, you REALLY need to not know anything beyond what is said in the cryptic blurb. If you do that, this book is guaranteed to knock you off your feet.

That’s how I read this book. I started it with certain expectations of what might happen, and all I can say is I was never so happy to be so completely wrong about a book in my life. I can say without hesitation that The Wife Between Us is easily one of the best books I have ever read in this genre, if not the best. The characters are crisply written, and you’ll find yourself siding with one or the other early on. The plot is complex, yet easy to follow and the events that take place within the story will keep the story uppermost in your mind during those moments life forces you to (reluctantly) stop reading for a while. Thrilling plot twists and stunning reveals will shatter everything you come to expect from the story, and have you frantically reading to see what happens next.

Don’t miss out on reading the book that is destined to be listed as one of the best releases of 2018. Do yourself a favor and add this one to your TBR immediately!

I received an advance review copy of this book courtesy of St. Martin’s Press via Netgalley.

add to goodreads

Authors: Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Title: The Wife Between Us

Genre: Suspense

Published: January 9th, 2018 by St. Martin’s Press

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

book worth reading

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About the Book

A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.

You will assume you are reading about a jealous wife and her obsession with her replacement.

You will assume you are reading about a woman about to enter a new marriage with the man she loves.

You will assume the first wife was a disaster and that the husband was well rid of her.

You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.

Assume nothing.

Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life.

About the Authors

Sarah Pekkanen and Greer Hendricks (Photo by Bill Miles)
Sarah Pekkanen and Greer Hendricks (Photo by Bill Miles)

GREER HENDRICKS spent over two decades as an editor. Her writing has been published in The New York Times and Publishers Weekly. The Wife Between Us is her first novel.

SARAH PEKKANEN is the internationally and USA Today bestselling author of seven previous novels. A former investigative journalist and feature writer, her work has been published in The Washington Post, USA Today, and many others.